New York residents may be interested to learn that according to 2012 statistics, there is one pedestrian death related to motor vehicle accidents every two hours in the United States. At highest risk are children, people over the age of 65 and pedestrians who are intoxicated.
New York residents may benefit from understanding more about the penalties typically associated with committing a hit-and-run offense. Leaving the scene of an accident without reporting a personal injury or property damage is a violation of the state law. Motorists who commit a hit-and-run offense resulting in property damage may be subjected to a penalty that includes up to 15 days in jail, up to $250 in fines, or both. These offenses may include damage to personal property or real property.
On Dec. 1, a 36-year-old woman was struck and killed while another woman suffered injuries as the two pedestrians were walking on Route 197 in Argyle. The accident was reported at approximately 7:16 p.m., officials said. Law enforcement officials suspect that a 58-year-old man was the driver involved in the traffic accident.