New York residents may benefit from understanding more about the penalties typically associated with committing a hit-and-run offense. Leaving the scene of an accident without reporting a personal injury or property damage is a violation of the state law. Motorists who commit a hit-and-run offense resulting in property damage may be subjected to a penalty that includes up to 15 days in jail, up to $250 in fines, or both. These offenses may include damage to personal property or real property.
Police have arrested two men who were allegedly involved in a pedestrian-related car accident that left a woman seriously injured. An intoxicated driver reportedly caused the crash, which occurred on March 7 in Binghamton.
A New York car crash that police believe was intentional sent two people, one of them a pedestrian, to the hospital on Feb. 27. Police arrested a 23-year-old Albany woman in connection with the incident, which began at about 3:45 a.m. at the intersection of Delaware Ave. and Leonard Place in Albany.
On Dec. 1, a 36-year-old woman was struck and killed while another woman suffered injuries as the two pedestrians were walking on Route 197 in Argyle. The accident was reported at approximately 7:16 p.m., officials said. Law enforcement officials suspect that a 58-year-old man was the driver involved in the traffic accident.
New York police have released a photograph of a blue Hyundai sedan that they believe was involved in a hit-and-run accident in Brooklyn on Nov. 5, which left a 46-year-old woman seriously injured. According to the NYPD, a photograph of the vehicle was taken by a witness, which helped them locate the car.